Have I Ever Really Worked Out to the Point of Fatigue?

I have now! (BTW this tired gal is not me, but you get the point.) 

I’m starting week two of a “lose a dress size in 21 days” boot camp, and the three — yes, that’s right, only three — workouts a week are … well, the expression that comes to mind isn’t really blog-appropriate, but let’s just say it has to do with kicking my “something.”

And, to really top things off from an ego standpoint, the workouts are only 30 minutes long (not including pre-workout stretching, which is highly encouraged).

The workouts vary each time, but the basic concept is to do quick bursts of exercise (sometimes 10 seconds, sometimes 50 seconds) and then take a very short rest. Ten seconds of intense exercise/three seconds of rest, or 50 seconds of intense exercise/10 seconds of  rest. By the end of a set, which is usually less than two minutes, I can barely move, or breathe!

So … I’ll keep you posted on

a)      If I see results.

b)      If I feel stronger … it is the start of ski season, and I’m interested to see if I can tell a difference.

c)      The eating plan and the science behind why this type of exercise/eating works. We’ll be learning more over the next few weeks.

A toast to health and happiness!

Cheers!

2 comments
  1. Ok, a little progress report….the kick me in the rump exercise routine didn’t really stick…time of classes didn’t work, my back hurt, blah, blah. BUT….I instead have been keeping a food diary and exercising regularly (Hit the ski mountain 2x a week during ski season, did yoga once a week with Jen as part of a local fundraising effort, and now that it is almost Spring…the running begins). I lost 8 lbs between January and March, and have maintained the weight loss for a month. (I got bored with the food diary, and had the opportunity to eat great Mexican food in Austin, Texas, so I took a little “break” from dieting). BUT, now I am going to go for another 8-10 lb loss by mid-June. I think moderate expectations may work better, for me, but we’ll see! Keep you posted! If all goes well, I will be down 2 dress sizes…it will just take 6 1/2 months, instead of 3 weeks!

    • Slow and steady wins the race! 🙂

Leave a Reply

